Media Diary: Too much online mahjoun

09/16

I woke up at 12:30 p.m. again, did everything I did just like yesterday. I cooked some dumpling and soup, then sit in front of my computer while eating. I played online mahjoun again. Mahjoun is not only a popular game for grandmothers, but also a popular game among young generation. My roommate and I often whine about how we really miss the time playing the REAL mahjoun in Taiwan. Haha. I spent about an hour looking at the post in PTT and then I start to read my textbook for a while. After that, I went to e-learning to see the home work of my online course. I find the topic quite interesting. It is talking about the ethic of blogging. I did some of the homework and then I went to my friend’s home for dinner.

After I come back home, I spent an hour to do my online course homework again. Then I logged in the MSN and Facebook to see whether there are something new. I start to read my textbook, but I find it hard to concentrate on my reading. So I gave up, and then logged in online mahjoun game again. My mom called me by Skype and we had a little chat (at the same time I am playing mahjoun), but I keep coughing so we hung up very soon. I created an account for Twitter, but I think I am too tired to figure out how to use it. So I decide to go to bed first. I stick in front of my desk almost all day long for today.

How online mahjoun game looks like:

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mindy McAdams
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 11:31:38

    Does your mom KNOW you are playing mahjong at the same time you are talking to her? 😀

    Do you know your online mahjong partners form real life? Or are they people you only know online?

    Reply

    • Carol
      Sep 18, 2010 @ 03:31:29

      My mother don’t know that I was playing mahjoun while talking to her, she might be angry if she knew that…

      I didn’t know the partner in real life, when I logged in the game, the system will just match the partners for me automatically. However, I think if you play the game often, you may meet some online friends there!

      Reply

  2. aflaten
    Sep 17, 2010 @ 14:53:11

    Mahjong is an unfathomable mystery to me. I see a bunch of tiles that (I think) have the characters for numbers, the cardinal directions, and various other things on them. Some cryptic ritual takes place where people place these tiles in what looks (to me) like a random order, and then someone wins. Hurray!

    I’m sure there’s probably a lot more to it then that.

    Reply

    • Carol
      Sep 18, 2010 @ 03:31:47

      Yes Alan, mahjoun is a quite complicated game; there are 144 tiles and three dices in one set of mahjoun; and there are 182,000,000,000 ways to win the game! Haha! But if you know how to play it, you will find it quite fun!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

