Media Diary: I can’t believe I spent so much time on this!

09/17

I woke up at 10:00a.m. this morning BUT I didn’t turn on my computer today! Instead, I went out to have a brunch with my roommate and a new Taiwanese student in her department, for the new student had some questions to ask my roommate. We went to a café called “Sisters;” the food was great. After that, I went home and do the routine works after I turn on my computer. I find my new computer screen has arrived and I am so excited! I put it on and try to make my laptop an extended screen; however, the resolution of the monitor just can’t do it right. I spent almost five hours to find out what the reason was! I went to so many websites to find what was wrong. And I even called my friends to come to my place to help me with it. But I just can’t get it right. This was so time-consuming! I was exhausted and finally I found out that I bought the wrong monitor…it doesn’t suit my laptop at all! I can’t believe it… so I put the monitor back in the box and called Amazon to tell them that I am going to return the product. HOWEVER, after I went to my friend’s birthday party at 9:30 p.m., someone told me that I can just adjust the monitor to suit my laptop’s resolution (all this time I was trying to adjust my laptop to suit the monitor). Well, I went home and read the handbook in CD and find that he was right…I can’t believe I spent so many time on this thing. I didn’t read any printed media, play mahjoun, and use Skype today. It is a long day for fixing my monitor. I am really a computer idiot.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mindy McAdams
    Sep 19, 2010 @ 12:14:08

    Don’t be so hard on yourself — you were doing what seemed logical to you, and that’s not being an idiot at all. But you didn’t consider all the options.

    What is surprising is that with all your Web searches, you did not find any advice that suggested you should change the monitor.

    That makes me think that maybe … MAYBE … you were either (1) not searching efficiently; or (2) not paying close attention to the advice on the pages you opened. What do you think?

    Reply

  2. Carol
    Sep 20, 2010 @ 01:47:54

    I asked myself the same thing, and I think maybe there are two reasons: 1) the model of my laptop were not sold in the U.S., so I can only find the website that is in Mandarin, for I can’t find any information in English. This cut down the information that I can find. 2) The keywords I use to search the information are mostly based on my laptop, so the information I found are related to that. I think I chose the wrong keywords to look for the information. I think I will be careful with my keywords next time. It is a good lesson!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

